Millhouse Primary school

School Curriculum

We use Chris Quigley’s Essential Curriculum to support our curriculum planning.

From September 2014 a new primary curriculum was introduced into all primary schools. Our aim is to ensure that we provide a curriculum which meets the needs of Millhouse children within the framework of the National Curriculum. At Millhouse Primary School we deliver a broad and balanced curriculum to all our pupils  aiming to provide children with a broad range of engaging and stimulating experiences to develop a love of learning. We provide challenge through organising work in a variety of ways, encouraging children to use their initiative and become more responsible for organising their own learning. We also aim to give equal opportunities to all children. Whenever possible we link subjects in a thematic approach in order to make them more relevant and engaging to the children.

Overall we teach through topics relevant to our children, looking at our local community and exposing children to the wider world. We provide first-hand learning experiences in order to enrich themes through arranging high quality educational visits or visitors.

Foundation Stage

The Foundation Stage begins when children reach the age of three – many children first attend some form of pre-school or nursery. Children are admitted in to Class 1 in the autumn term of the academic year in which they are 5.

The Foundation Stage consists of three prime areas:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

and four specific areas:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

Children are assessed against the EYFS learning goals at the end of their Reception year.

Opportunities are provided for all children to succeed in a caring and supportive atmosphere where they feel valued. These early experiences create the basis for later learning in school and beyond.

Children progress from the Foundation Stage in to Key Stage 1 where they start the new National Curriculum.

Key Stage 1

Curriculum Map KS1

In Key Stage 1 (and throughout Key Stage 2) we use a wide range of material to support reading, including Oxford Reading Tree, Collins, Nelson and Ginn reading scheme books. For phonics we use the Letters and Sounds scheme.

Key Stage 2

Curriculum Map KS2


Y1 children currently undertake a statutory phonics assessment during the summer term.

Children at ages 7 (Y2) and 11 (Y6) will be assessed using the Government’s standard assessment tests. These are a mixture of teacher assessment and statutory tests. The results of these assessments are sent home with the child’s annual report. Regular assessment takes place in other year groups and this is used to help the school set targets.

Further information about the curriculum and school policies can be obtained by asking school staff or visiting the Documents and Policies section on our website. Rising Stars have also produced a useful guide for parents to the new curriculum.

The new national curriculum in English Primary schools – A guide for parents